Drywall repair for towel rod.

Old 03-13-05, 05:48 PM
rransi
Visiting Guest
Drywall repair for towel rod.

Not sure if this is the correct forum for this.. but here is my situation (I am a complete newbie in matters of home repair)

The other day my son leaned over the towel rod in the bathroom, and the right side just came off. I patched the drywall and installed the rod again, at the same point that was damaged earlier. But it stayed only two days before breaking again.

My question is how to fix this situation? I can patch the drywall and it looks fine cosmetically -- am I supposed to move the position of the towel rod and drill holes in fresh sections of the drywall or is it possible to repair the existing ripped holes and make them strong enough to hold the rod again?

Thanks.

Old 03-14-05, 09:36 PM
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Hello and welcome to the forums.

Well it depends on if we have to fix this so the towel bar will hold towels, or does it have to hold little boys as well. Trust me as the Dad of 4 boys, I know exactly what you're talking about. Youngest one is 12 now, I figure I've got at least two more yrs before he out grows the little monkey stage. It's a constant battle! But has great rewards, the oldest is out on his own now with a job & everything, I'm so proud & relieved.