Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

Old wall new wallboard

02-08-06, 10:22 PM   #1  
Old wall new wallboard

I'm remodeling a 27 year old bathroom. I have installed a new tub and surround after much difficulty. I'm now left with replacing wallboard removed during tub installation.

Here's the problem. The old wall has what I guess is called a skim coat. It's a thin layer of plaster applied over the wallboard. How can I make the new wallboard blend with the old stuff. There is about a 1/8 inch difference. Will taping and feathering with compound work or do I need to remove all the old wall as has been suggested by a friend. Sure would like to avoid that if at all possible.

I have tried to make even cuts and my plan is to sand and bevel the cuts to make them as smooth as possible. I have no experience with drywall but I really want to tackle this task on my own. I will have some "muscle" help but nobody with much experience. Looking for any helpful suggestions.

Sponsored Links

KS

02-09-06, 06:08 AM   #2  
The best way is to shim the new to the old. Use a 4 foot level to make sure it is as flat as possible. You could also use 5/8" rock and it would fit perfect.

02-09-06, 07:40 AM   #3  
Thanks Coops, I'm headed out to buy some 5/8 rock. I'll let you know how I do.

02-16-06, 10:17 AM   #4  
Wow!!! I always had respect for those of you who do this kind of thing professionally but I have an even greater respect after having tried it myself.