Taping seams

Old 11-07-06, 04:38 AM
Taping seams

I should tape along the seams where the drywall meets the ceiling eh? I did go over the exsiting drywall but thought it might look a bit messy.

Is it standard...tape all seams?

Thanks.

Sponsored Links
Old 11-07-06, 05:05 AM
Group Moderator
Originally Posted by coopns
Is it standard...tape all seams?
Yep, it is. Don't tape and they're guaranteed to crack. And you'll get better results with paper tape than fiberglass.

Old 12-17-06, 08:28 AM
Here here on using paper over the other stuff like fiberglass! I am new to all this and am working on our bedroom with plaster cracks and new drwall in the closet. I thought the adhesive based tape with lots of little holes would be a great thing, but it is awful annd makes the work ten times harder (and longer). Take it from a newby (as well as the pros), paper tape is the way to go!

Now I have to sign off and get back to fixing the mess I created! :-) It is a tough lesson, but along with paper tape patience and thin coats of mud is the rule.

Old 12-18-06, 06:18 AM
"I thought the adhesive based tape with lots of little holes would be a great thing, but it is awful annd makes the work ten times harder (and longer)"

I agree that fiberglass tape is not as effective as paper. I used fiberglass years ago when it first came out and I had lots of cracks. However, the big (and IMO only) advantage of fiberglass is that it's faster and easier to use than paper. No bed coat and it sticks to the wall when you put it up. I prefer fiberglass tape for small repairs.

Old 12-18-06, 02:08 PM