Skim coating a bathoom

Old 01-10-07, 08:27 PM
Question Skim coating a bathoom

I have never done skim coating before, and I initially thought it was something I could easily do, but now I'm doubting myself. I don't have a lot of wall space to do, as the bathroom has ceramic tile half way up the walls. I removed the existing wall paper and scrubbed off any residue. What I have left are walls with score marks from when the previous owner cut the wall paper after hanging it, a few cracks in the plaster, a few cracks in the paint, a few chips in the paint, and gloss paint. I noticed when I was scrubbing the walls that any patching previously done was washing right off. This is where my concern comes in about skim coating. What do I need to do to prep the walls so that the mud will adhere? I bought some TSP to help degloss, but I'm not sure that is what I should use. Also, where the plaster is cracked, should I chisel that out and patch prior to skim coating? Do I tape it after it's patched? Can I just tape it and not worry about chiseling it out? What is the best method for applying the mud? Trowel or rolling? How thick should the coat be? I know I'm piling on the questions, but the more info I have, the better the chances of getting my confidence back! Any help you can give me is much appreciated.
Thanks!
Ahana

Sponsored Links
Old 01-11-07, 06:23 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Welcome to the diy forums

All repairs should be made prior to skim coating. Joint compound is water soluable so it is important to use a good primer when finished. Glossy surfaces should be sanded to promote adhesion.

Are your walls plaster or drywall?

Generally surface cracks, cuts and grooves don't need to be taped. If the plaster or drywall has split in two it needs to be taped. Any unfaced gypsum needs to be coated with a solvent based primer to prevent moisture damage from the j/c.