need to redo my patch job

Old 03-25-08, 07:45 AM
need to redo my patch job

We put up 1/4" drywall over existing drywall in my kitchen since th ewallpaper wasnt coming off very well. Im no pro, but after spackling the joint and taping I thought it looked good and smooth and after painting it a dark brown, it looks TERRIBLE! Can you guys give me some tips to make it look better and how should I redo it?

Sponsored Links
Old 03-25-08, 08:26 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Ya, it's hard for the untrained eye to see how the drywall finish really looks until it gets paint on it. The good news is you now know where you need to do more work.

Sand what you can and apply more joint compound. Generally the tape joints and nail/screw heads take 3 coats of j/c. Be sure to use a pole sander or something to hold the sandpaper flat.

When you think you have right, apply primer and pay especially good attention to how the finish looks while the primer is still wet. If you see any places that need more work, finish them when the primer dries - don't forget to reprime these areas.

Old 03-25-08, 08:30 AM
Additionally, spread that joint out as much as possible by using a 12 - 15inch blade for your last layer of mud.

Old 03-25-08, 07:16 PM
Originally Posted by thezster View Post
Additionally, spread that joint out as much as possible by using a 12 - 15inch blade for your last layer of mud.
Where do I find a 15" taping knife? I would buy it in a second. Stainless of course.

A wide taping knife of additional Joint Compound should be what the doctor ordered. Did you do the required three coats of mud?

Old 03-26-08, 02:19 AM
No, I didnt really have a clue what I was doing. Anybody have some good instructions?

Old 03-26-08, 04:15 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Originally Posted by panteramatt View Post
...it looks TERRIBLE! Can you guys give me some tips to make it look better and how should I redo it?