I need Help!!!

Old 05-30-08, 02:35 PM
I need Help!!!

Hello Everyone!
I am repairing a nasty mold problem that we had almost a year ago. All of the mold was removed, but now I am having a problem deciding what walls, or rather how much of the walls I should tear down. I ripped out the floorboards and found what looked like just the corrosion of the wall. The dry wall is just crumbling all over the place, but I cant tell how high it is, and to complicate things even more its again a brick wall on the other side so I cant just go smacking it down with a hammer to replace the whole thing. Or can I? I'm new to the whole home repair thing, but I have a basic understanding of whats going on. Any input on what I should do would be great. Thanks for your support.
-Mike

Sponsored Links
Old 05-30-08, 04:52 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
What is the cause of the mold and what room(s) is (are) it in?

Or are you in the 9th ward in New Orleans? or ???

You basically tear out interior sheetrock or plaster as need be, til you get to studs or firring.

Old 05-30-08, 11:51 PM
its ugly

It was in a small bathroom. The Drywall just looks like its really corroded at the base, but is there any real way to tell how far up it is? And since it is against brick, do I use the plaster? or do I use a regular sheet of drywall? Sorry for so many questions, but any advice is helpful! Thanks.
-Mike

Old 05-31-08, 02:59 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
It's right against the brick without even any firring strips? How'd they run electrical? You sure?

I'd simply wreck/cut out the bad area from bottom up to where the outside of it appears good, and call it quits. Then splice some sheetrock in. Regular sheetrock should do. You need to find what caused the corrosion, as you call it, first. And stop that first.