First Time Drywall Experience!

Old 05-30-08, 09:07 PM
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
First Time Drywall Experience!

Hi All!
It's my first time post and I am a really new member here on DIY.com

I've never done drywall work before and tomorrow starts my first experience with it. Our garage had some water damaged drywall and the outside has been fixed and the inside needs some repair. A large piece of the wall has exposed studs and I need to hang the drywall, and somehow make it blend in with the existing drywall. let me know if you have any suggestions (ie. what brand of mud to buy, screws vs. nails, mudding tips, drying time, etc.. ) I don't know anything.. I do know that I should wait before painting... the rest.. I hope you suggest.

Wish me luck! Maybe if it turns out ok, I'll post pictures.

Regards, Ryan

Old 05-31-08, 03:47 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Upvotes: 0
Received 9 Upvotes on 8 Posts
Ryan, welcome to the forums! Hey, guys, fresh meat!
No, really, we are here to help, and would really like to see your pictures when you are through. First, you should remove any damaged drywall from the area, so you will have a clean slate to begin with. Depending on whether you have help or not, you can install the sheetrock vertically or horizontally. If you are by yourself, or with minimal help, install it vertically, lifting it to the top so it hits the sheetrock on the ceiling. Don't worry about the bottom, as you can either leave it alone, or use base molding to cover the crack. Use 1 5/8 course thread sheetrock screws to attach the sheetrock. If you have a sheetrock square (good tool), you should mark your studs on the sheet so your screw line will hit the studs.