patching plaster around an electrical box

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-17-08, 06:20 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 145
patching plaster around an electrical box

Greetings,

Doing a remodel in a house with plaster walls(I've never worked with plaster walls) and of course I tore up some edges around the electrical boxes. It's one of those things where after the cover plate is on that only a little bit of the tear or hole will be showing. Enough will be showing that it has to be fixed.

What would be the best way to go about this? I know from experience that just putting mud on may or may not work. I've done this on drywall and alot of time it just cracks because there is just a bunch of mud stuffed in a hole with not much to hold on to.

Also, can I use drywall mud or does it have to be plaster?

Side note- I have some misc. holes in the plaster that need repaired. What is the best way to repair them?

Thank you,
Ron
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-17-08, 02:36 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 43,834
Generally plaster can be repaired using a drywall setting compound like durabond. It's a little more forgiving than ready mix joint compound but it is a bear to sand. how big are the holes?

You could also use oversized plates/covers to hide the gaps next to the box.
 
  #3  
Old 11-19-08, 06:15 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 145
Some holes are from lag bolts that held the cabinets in. Other holes are more like a 'crater'. They are around an inch wide and flush with the plaster around the edge and go to about a 1/4-3/8" deep in the middle. I figured drywall compound should be fine.

The over sized cover plates still aren't big enough. There would still be just a very little bit of gap showing even with the bigger cover plates.

Thanks for the help...

Ron
 
  #4  
Old 11-19-08, 07:08 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 43,834
If you use ready mix joint compound you will need to also use tape. Durabond will be ok without tape providing it has enough surface to adhere to.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes