Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

patching plaster around an electrical box


STUB's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 145

11-17-08, 06:20 AM   #1  
patching plaster around an electrical box

Greetings,

Doing a remodel in a house with plaster walls(I've never worked with plaster walls) and of course I tore up some edges around the electrical boxes. It's one of those things where after the cover plate is on that only a little bit of the tear or hole will be showing. Enough will be showing that it has to be fixed.

What would be the best way to go about this? I know from experience that just putting mud on may or may not work. I've done this on drywall and alot of time it just cracks because there is just a bunch of mud stuffed in a hole with not much to hold on to.

Also, can I use drywall mud or does it have to be plaster?

Side note- I have some misc. holes in the plaster that need repaired. What is the best way to repair them?

Thank you,
Ron

 
Sponsored Links
marksr's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator

Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 42,787
TN

11-17-08, 02:36 PM   #2  
Generally plaster can be repaired using a drywall setting compound like durabond. It's a little more forgiving than ready mix joint compound but it is a bear to sand. how big are the holes?

You could also use oversized plates/covers to hide the gaps next to the box.


retired painter/contractor avid DIYer

 
STUB's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 145

11-19-08, 06:15 AM   #3  
Some holes are from lag bolts that held the cabinets in. Other holes are more like a 'crater'. They are around an inch wide and flush with the plaster around the edge and go to about a 1/4-3/8" deep in the middle. I figured drywall compound should be fine.

The over sized cover plates still aren't big enough. There would still be just a very little bit of gap showing even with the bigger cover plates.

Thanks for the help...

Ron

 
marksr's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator

Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 42,787
TN

11-19-08, 07:08 AM   #4  
If you use ready mix joint compound you will need to also use tape. Durabond will be ok without tape providing it has enough surface to adhere to.


retired painter/contractor avid DIYer

 
Search this Thread