Joint tape required?

Old 04-13-09, 06:59 AM
C
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Joint tape required?

I'm an amateur but have done a great deal of drywall and have always used the fiberglass mesh or paper tape. A handful of times I've done the mudding without the mesh or tape, and it seems to do just as well in the short term and long term. Exactly why is tape or mesh necessary?

Old 04-13-09, 08:46 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 9 Upvotes on 8 Posts
Welcome to the forums! Thusfar you have been lucky. The tape (paper preferred) helps to keep the joints you are covering from expanding, making an obvious crack form in the wall/ceiling. I wouldn't take on a large project without using tape, whether you use mesh or paper. Mesh, of course won't work well for ceiling to wall transitions, nor for wall to wall transitions, only flat surfaces. It tends to not lay square in those transition corners like paper tape will.

Old 04-13-09, 10:37 AM
C
Thanks Chandler.

Regarding the mesh, I've found that if you take the taping knife and force it into the corners (wall to wall or wall to ceiling), it works just fine. I'd use the paper more but have had such crappy results (skill related I'm sure ) over the years.

I never seem to get out of a project without 2 or 3 "bubbles" appearing under the paper.

Old 04-13-09, 01:36 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 835 Upvotes on 732 Posts
Do you thin your j/c any? I generally thin my mud a tad and mix it well. That makes it slide better and if you have a full coat of mud under the tape, you shouldn't have any bubbles..... and if you do get bubbles, you can cut them out and redo, sometimes without adding more tape.

Old 04-14-09, 05:43 AM
C
Thanks Marksr,

No, I've never thinned the j/c, but I do "stir" the stuff on top with the taping knife to make sure I get a moist scoop.

Thanks for your advice guys. Even though I hate it, I guess I'll keep using the tape/mesh.

Old 04-14-09, 06:00 PM
E