Baseboard, Molding Refinishing + Newbie

Old 10-31-09, 05:31 AM
Exclamation Baseboard, Molding Refinishing + Newbie

All the baseboards and molding around the doors in this 1958 ranch house are in lousy shape cosmetically. They seem to have dirt ground in, paint slopped on them and so on. I am a complete and utter novice to home repair and since my husband's illness have to be the DIY person. I'm clueless as to how to approach what looks like a huge job.

I believe I have to do the baseboard and molding, then paint and then do the floors in this order. Is that correct? Right now I don't know where to start or how to do it. And direction to information would be greatly appreciated.

Peace,
Jane

Sponsored Links
Old 10-31-09, 08:12 AM
Temporarily Suspended
What kind of floors are they? When you say redo them, exactly what do you mean. Don't try to do the molding job without a finish nail gun & a chop saw.

Old 10-31-09, 08:49 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Welcome to the forums Jane!

Just how bad are the baseboard and casings? Would a good sanding and a couple of coats of paint make them look decent? Some dings and gouges can be filled although I wouldn't want to repair all the woodwork.

Give us a little more info and we will try to help

Old 11-01-09, 04:31 AM
I'm sorry if I haven't given enough info. I really am doing this for the first time, so I don't know what some things are called and what info to give.

I do not know what wood is on the floor. I was just told it is "hardwood" and have no idea how to tell one wood from another unless it is very distinctive looking. By "redo" I meant rent a sander, hope for the best and then give them a coat of something, probably polyurethane, or something less slippery if I can find it. My need at the moment is to stop having completely bare wood floors. Not only do they look bad, but if the dogs have an accident it soaks in.