Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Interior Improvement Center > Patching and Plastering
Reload this Page >

sloppy drywall joints in Garage - want to make it look nice

Old 03-26-10, 09:14 AM
T
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts

Our garage was sheetrocked when the house was built but never painted. This summer I will finally have time to do that - however, when they did the seams it was sloppy - a quick and dirty job if you will ... I am wondering what might be some options for me ... right now I am thinking ...

1). Pay a pro to come in and redo the joints and make it look nice. The only downside here is finding someone and the cost ...

2). Attempting to smooth over the joints with new mud myself and make it look nicer - then paint. Downside here is I am not good at this and the time involved ...

3). Some kind of textured paint over the whole thing that would hide the sins of the sloppy joints ... ??? It is a garage ... I just want it to look "nice" - perfection not required - comments?

TIA

Old 03-26-10, 01:24 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 835 Upvotes on 732 Posts
Welcome to the forums!

I'm not fond of just covering it up with texture - the odds are you will still see the defects

It isn't all that difficult to mud over them and do it right. Mix in a little water with the joint compound and apply it with a 10"-12" drywall knife. The smoother you apply it, the less you have to sand Use a sanding pole [or most anything that can hold the sandpaper flat] to finish leveling it out. J/C sands easy although it is dusty. If you lay a straight edge along/over the joints, you'll be able to tell how level it is without having to paint it first.

Even if you decide to go with texture - fix the drywall finishing first, even if you don't get it perfect, it will look better than just texturing.

Old 03-26-10, 02:49 PM
S
Group Moderator
Received 1,263 Upvotes on 1,204 Posts