Imperial Basecoat Plaster Question

Old 10-24-11, 09:23 AM
G
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Imperial Basecoat Plaster Question

Hello! This is my first time posting.

My husband and I are building a strawbale house in MT. We are doing the majority of the work ourselves (cost reasons), and that includes the interior plaster walls over the bales. The rest of the interior walls will be drywall.

We have been talking with a local plaster supplier who has supplied products to other strawbale houses, and he suggested only using 2 coats of USG Imperial Basecoat. When I asked what top coat plaster he suggested, he said that if we were going to paint the plaster then there was no reason to do a top coat.

I realize that this is a pretty specific situation, but I'm wondering if anyone else out there has heard about/done this with plaster before.

Thanks!

Sponsored Links
Old 10-24-11, 03:17 PM
T
Received 10 Votes on 9 Posts
Seems to me like Imperial would be an expensive option. Cheaper and better because you can build it out more would be traditional plaster. You put sand and plaster together and can build it out about an inch without it sagging. (I have never used it on bales but I am thinking it should behave about like gypsum lath with some suction in the straw.)
Imperial is stronger and harder but does not have as much body so can't be built out as thick in a single coat as plain plaster. The supplier probably does not want to mess with ordering plain or fibred gypsum plaster. An advantage of Imperial is that all you need to do is add water and mix. If you want a very smooth plaster finish you will need Imperial Finish or Diamond Finish. If you don't mid a little sand texture you will not need any more than two coats.