Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

Bathroom Ceiling Patching Problem

MO

12-06-11, 06:23 AM   #1  
Bathroom Ceiling Patching Problem

I'm a novice in all things home improvement and repair. I patched a 1/2 inch hole in my bathroom ceiling with fiberglass mesh tape and drywall compound. The hole was the result of a small roof leak that was (allegedly) repaired. After patching, I primed the area around the patch with Kilz and repainted the entire bathroom ceiling. Two problems/questions:

1) There is water collecting on the ceiling after showers in the area of the patch/Kilz. It appears as a different "color" compared to the rest of teh ceiling and is wet to the touch.

2) The area I patched is sagging. I used the fiberglass mesh tape to try to avoid that problem. I tried to sand flush to the rest of the ceiling, but perhaps that was too far down.

I have pictures of that will help. So, should I still be concerned about having a roof problem? If not, how can I solve my ceiling problem? Thanks for any help you can offer. Gary

Sponsored Links
Group Moderator

NC

12-06-11, 09:06 AM   #2  
Yes, a picture would probably help.

First I would make certain you do not still have a roof leak. If you suspect it, it is worth checking out. Since you primed only that one area with Kilz it is more water resistant than the ceiling around the patch. The hot moist air from the shower may be condensing on the ceiling. The patched area is not water resistant so the water stays on the surface while the un-patched area is more porous and the water is soaking up into the paint and ceiling.

Is the patched area truly sagging? If you push up on it does it move? Or, now that the ceiling is re-painted can you just see a hump where the repair is located.