Plaster wall? How to paint it?

Old 07-22-13, 12:18 PM
Plaster wall? How to paint it?

Hello All,

I am new to the forums, so I hope I am following the rules with this thread.

First, I am a new homeonwer, and I am completely new to the whole dyi mentality. As such, I am not to keen on how to fix things and never really grew up learning how; this is what has brought me here.

I recently removed some popcorn ceiling in my place and noticed there is this chalky material that was underneath. I believe that it is plaster, but I don't know for sure. Anyway, the plaster has what looks like elreical wires running through it. The wires run nearly the entire length of the cieling, and there are at least 3 dozen of them. (see attachment)

My intent (after removing the popcorn) was to simply sand and then paint the drywall, however, the plaster and wires were a complete surprise. I have talked with a a friend who basically recommended that I just prime the plaster and then mud it to get a smooth surface and then basically prime and then paint over the mud.

I am hoping any one of you may be able to help me. Is this something I should do, is there an easier way, or should I take down the plaster all together?

Any advice is much appreciated. Thanks in advanced.

Attached Images  
Sponsored Links
Old 07-22-13, 01:13 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Welcome to the forums!

I suspect the wires are an electric ceiling heat system - it may or may not still be operational.

How much of the ceiling texture are you removing? Normally you just wet the texture and scrape. You shouldn't need to remove the mud that the wires are embedded in. If the chalk can't be brushed off it will need to be primed before you apply any joint compound - or the j/c won't adhere well.

Old 07-22-13, 01:32 PM
"I suspect the wires are an electric ceiling heat system"

Does such a thing really exist? That's the scariest thing I've ever heard.

Old 07-22-13, 03:04 PM