Help with first time drywall repair

Old 12-22-14, 05:48 PM
Help with first time drywall repair

Hi,

this is my first time trying any sort of repair with drywall.
A picture showing the damaged area is attached.

I chipped away the loose paint and most of an outer layer of what I presume is joint compound.

The 3 things i'd like to point out and get advice on are:
The metal corner bead has some rust on it.
The paper is coming off most of the exposed drywall.
There is a hole near the top of the tub.

The simplest option would be to just start layering on joint compound, but do I need to do more?
Should I remove that drywall paper?Can I just fill up the hole with joint compound?
Do I need to use the mesh tape to get the joint compound to stick?

I was planning to use Sheetrock Lightweight All Purpose Joint Compound

Thanks in advance,
John

Attached Images  
Sponsored Links
Old 12-22-14, 06:11 PM
Group Moderator
I would recommend you spray a bit of primer on the rusty corner bead. Then I would use "setting compound" for the first coat. Once its dry you can continue with your lightweight joint compound.

Cut any loose paper away, and prime any bare gypsum that's exposed with an oil based primer. Kilz original spray can would suffice. Let it dry very well before you apply the setting compound.

Old 12-23-14, 03:38 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
It is important that you cut off the loose paper, if you just pull, it will keep on peeling Wherever the paper is missing it needs to be coated with either an oil base primer or Zinnser's Gardz, since you have rusty cornerbead I'd use an oil base primer. It would be better to brush the primer on as a rattle can won't apply as much primer and you have to deal with containing the overspray.

I also like to use a setting compound as it speeds up the repair process but using premixed j/c will work.