Patching small hole for reuse

Old 10-28-15, 10:20 PM
W
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Question Patching small hole for reuse

So long story short, I am a bit of a novice when it comes to DIY jobs. I went to hang my television on a mount specifically designated for use on drywall without studs (the OmniMount OMF TV Wall Mount to be exact). When drilling one of the wall anchors cracked, so now I have a less than dime size hole where the drill went into the wall and the anchor broke. Is there an easy way to fill in this small hole to make it suitable for drilling into again? I assume puddy or compound may not be strong enough. Or maybe it is, this is where you tell me.

My fear in moving the tv slightly upwards or downwards is I would have to unscrew out the other screws already in place with their anchors and I am unsure if these anchors could be reused or even removed period without breaking. The mount randomly gave me five anchors, so I only have one remaining that I know will fit the screws given.

I apologize in advanced for my ignorance on DIY jobs, please feel free to talk down to me like I am five in explaining anything

Below is a picture for reference...
Name:  IMG_5330.jpg
Views: 3636
Size:  20.8 KB

Old 10-29-15, 04:01 AM
P
Temporarily Suspended
What do you mean by a dry wall without studs? Do you mean, if you can't find the studs? It sounds like the anchor broke because you hit a stud. Can you post pics, of the wall & the bracket? Make the pics wide angled so that we can see the big picture.

Old 10-29-15, 04:25 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 835 Upvotes on 732 Posts
If you hit a stud, all you need is a suitable screw to go thru the mount/drywall and securely into the stud. Patching and reusing the same spot for an anchor point rarely works well.

btw - welcome to the forums!

Old 10-29-15, 07:26 AM
T