ouside corner repair

Old 02-21-17, 06:34 AM
ouside corner repair

I have two corner areas around my tub that look horrible.

Name:  Drywall corner.jpg
Views: 164
Size:  26.3 KB

My main concern is how I should handle the corner that is right next to the tub. I do not think there is enough room to cut out the met trim and put in a new one. However, I've never done this sort of work before and could be incorrect on all my assumptions.

What is the best way to repair this area? Can I replace the metal corner even with the tub there, or should I be looking into just giving it a thick coat of plaster and smooth it as best as I can?

Thank you,

Sponsored Links
Old 02-21-17, 07:07 AM
I would scrape it down and see if there is rust underneath all that. If not, then patch it up with some setting compound, sand smooth and then paint. Make sure you use a good caulk where the tub meets the wall because that water intrusion is what is probably causing your damage. If there is rust, you will need to cut it out and then replace it with a fresh corner bead. You can probably trim down the corner bead to fit if you need to. I would guess that you can probably clean out some of the plaster behind the tub to slide in the corner bead. They also sell a plastic corner bead if you want to go that route but then you are sort of conceding that you aren't going to prevent water from getting in there which is a bad idea.

- Peter

Old 02-21-17, 07:21 AM
The corner bead seems to not be attached to the plaster any more, but I shall investigate as you suggested. I believe I have quality caulk now, so hopefully I can prevent further damage.

Do I use tape along with the bead, or is the bead enough?

Old 02-21-17, 07:47 AM
Typically you nail the bead to the wall and then mud it. No tape.

Old 02-21-17, 08:21 AM
Thanks for the reminder about nails. I probably would have used the screws I have lying around and remembered nails only after I couldn't get the compound to look nice.