Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Interior Improvement Center > Patching and Plastering
Reload this Page >

Fastening Lath to Concrete Wall in Basement

Old 07-07-19, 12:26 PM

Hello! I'm hoping to get some input on a project I completed in my basement that I now have serious doubts about. Sorry for the long post, but I want to be thorough:

I had a 50 square foot section of concrete wall that was uneven and pitted and also slightly recessed from the nicer wall to the right of it. This section of wall is shown in the picture with metal lath fastened to it. After putting up the lath, I used the three-coat stucco process to resurface the wall and bring it out to the level of the nicer wall to the right. I used lath because the wall was painted so there would be no chance of a good bond with the existing wall. I completed the project back in November as a complete newbie to stucco.

Eight months later, the wall looks fine, but after learning more about this recently, I've realized I made some key mistakes on it. I believe the three coats were done correctly, with each properly moist-cured, but unfortunately I...

1) used 3/4" fluted masonry nails, which went in snugly but seem dinky in retrospect.
2) put the nails in a grid pattern (as you can see) instead of staggering them.
3) used #10 flat washers with the masonry nails instead of lath and plaster washers.
4) used that light-weight expanded lath from home depot that may not be adequate for three coats. I furred the lath manually, which is also not ideal, so that the stucco would key behind it.

What I'm most worried about now is that the nails are not going to hold what's essentially a 500 lb slab of stucco standing on its side. Is there a risk of this new wall just falling down someday or would it fail more gradually over time? If it needs to be reinforced. what could I do about that now?

Thanks in advance.

Bob

Attached Images  
Sponsored Links
Old 07-07-19, 12:57 PM
Upvotes Received: 67