plaster base repair

Old 01-13-23, 03:08 PM
A
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
plaster base repair

Hello. I'm remodeling my bathroom and have to replace some drywall that was cut out. It appears to be plaster base board with veneer plaster. I have no experience working with this stuff. Where a new and old piece of plaster base meet will i need to remove the finish on the old piece in order to tape and blend together? I figure i can sand it down but will that sanded surface need to be treated before applying plaster? It's not a lot that needs to be replaced. Maybe 30 sq ft total.

Old 01-15-23, 08:45 PM
T
Received 39 Upvotes on 32 Posts
A couple pictures of what you have including a picture of the cross section of the wall material in question would help.
This is what I think you have. “Blue Board” is veneer plaster base. It is much like conventional drywall only has a different kind of paper finish so that plaster bonds to it. it is blue to distinguish it from other gypsum boards.
Your coating could be a one coat system or a two coat system. In a two coat system the first coat is a (usually) sanded plaster with a (usually) smooth plaster finish.

Maybe what you have is gypsum lath with gypsum plaster, a superior plaster system. The gypsum lath is 3/8” thick and the plaster brown coat is about 3/8” - 1/2” and the finish is 1/16” - 1/8”.