Can I use a 4.5v charger when the camera says use 4.2v?

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-10-05, 06:26 PM
dstrain
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Question Can I use a 4.5v charger when the camera says use 4.2v?

I've got a Nikon Coolpix 2100 camera that's missing its charger. On the camera it says that the charger used is 4.2v. What I do have is a 4.5v charger from a Sony CD player. Will this be safe to use with the camera? Or will the voltage difference harm it?

Thanks!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-10-05, 09:33 PM
GregH's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 9,733
I would have to say that you would risk damaging something if you use a charger of different specs than what is called for.

Your camera can use two AA batteries.
You could get a stand alone charger and remove the batteries for charging.
 
  #3  
Old 08-20-05, 07:38 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: CA
Posts: 2,041
A short-term charge would probably be OK. The problem is you don't know for sure how much current the other charger might put out, and actually any inexpensive charger should not be left on charge to the device for long periods. Unless the charger or the device has end-of-charge current limiting and a trickle controller, it will tend to overcharge the batteries. This is why products like hand vacuums or others that have always-plugged-in charging stands, the battery life of these tends to be short.
 
  #4  
Old 01-06-06, 03:06 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 995
Old thread, I know, but you also have to be very aware when using different transformers for chargers that they are both AC or both DC. Wall-wart-type transformers for various lower-voltage electrical devices like chargers can be EITHER, depending on the unit at the other end of the cord.

USUALLY for chargers, the current is rectified at the transformer side on the wall, but sometimes it isn't rectified to DC until it's plugged into the physical charger, so make sure.

For a battery charger, it would probably be safe to use a DC no matter what, as it's got to get rectified sooner or later before it charges the batteries, and you can run DC through another rectifier without it actually doing anything.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes