DSLR canon vs nikon?

Old 07-01-08, 11:29 AM
DSLR canon vs nikon?

So I'm shopping for a D-SLR camera for the first time. I have no glass, so am open to brand...however, I have limited my choices to the Canon 40d and the Nikon d300. I understand that the Nikon seems to be a better camera, the question is is it worth the extra money? I would consider myself a beginner, since I have little photography experience, however I am willing to go to classes/read/get the knowledge to improve my skill - and I think I'll be pick it up pretty quickly. The BIG driver for this purchase is the anticipation of my first child - so it is fair to say that portrait will be a heavy use of this camera...but I also want the ability to do all-around "tourist" use. Which leads me to the next obvious question of which lense to pair with the choosen camera.

I have been leaning toward the Canon, because of the price difference, and Amazon seems to pair it with a decent lense for about $1100..however with today's release of the Nikon's d700, I'm planning to wait on any purchase as I imagine prices will fall. I wonder if this will only effect Nikon's pricing, or if it will effect the market as a whole.

Anyway, any ideas or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks,
Guy

Sponsored Links
Old 07-01-08, 06:39 PM
Super Moderator
I went with the 40D and the 28-135 IS USM lens and couldn't be happier.

The D300 shows slightly better specs in some areas but in no way is it worth over $500.00 more.
That money is better spent on accessories.

The 28-135 lens is a good walk around lens, covers a useful range and is a good place to start.
My preference leans towards longer lenses and had to buy a 70- 300 USM non IS lens right away.
This lens is just a filler until I can afford the Canon 100-400 IS USM L lens.
The L series are Canon's high quality, highly desired and pricey lenses.

Here is a useful tool to see what the field of view is for various lens focal lengths.

Any more questions just ask.