kodak easyshare DX6490 won't record with sound

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-03-09, 10:58 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 1,363
kodak easyshare DX6490 won't record with sound

I have a Kodak easyshare dx6490 that no longer records with sound. any ideas. i didn't use the video mode that much. any ideas. it records the video i just don't have audio anymore. i tried the SD card in another camera and it worked so its not the card.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-04-09, 05:57 AM
GregH's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 9,628
I looked and found that there are no firmware updates for your camera so there is no software fix.
You do not say whether there is no sound when you playback with the camera connected to a TV or on a computer using the EasyShare software or Media Player.

If played back on the camera you could check the playback volume that is adjusted with the up arrow on the back of the camera.
If you tried playing videos on the computer and still no sound I can only suggest you try reformatting the memory card in the camera and maybe remove the camera batteries for several minutes.
The only other thing I can suggest is that you check in the camera menu for a mute setting for the recording mode.
 
  #3  
Old 05-05-09, 05:47 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 1,363
i have a USB SD card reader which is not the problem. i used the same card in another camera as a test and i have sound with the other camera so the kodak one is the problem. looking though the video menu there is no mute option. so my guess is the mic quite. the camera also takes still pictures. the camera does not have sound during playback itself. you have either hook the camera up to the tv or use a card reader on the computer.
 
  #4  
Old 05-09-09, 09:53 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 1,363
ok took a video of my tv. hit the review button on the camera and hit play. this camera offers sound during playback and i have audio. took the card out of the camera put it into my USB SD card reader and i don't have sound during playback. So any ideas. yes the computer has sound. so maybe it doesn't like this cameras format anymore. the videos are NTSC.

EDIT tried it on my one working desktop in another room that has quicktime it plays back with sound. on my laptop it uses MPC(media player classic) could that be the problem the whole time.
 
  #5  
Old 05-10-09, 05:44 AM
GregH's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 9,628
The video will not be NTSC.
NTSC is the television format your camera outputs to the TV.
If you were in Europe the output would be PAL.

Yes, if the video was not opening in Quicktime the sound would not play.
If you use a Quicktime player to view the movie then your video will be in Quicktime format.

First check to see if you have Quicktime installed by looking under programs, if not get Quicktime Free here.
If you do have Quicktime on your computer then go to My Computer to view the file and when you find it right click and you should have Quicktime shown as an option.
 
  #6  
Old 05-10-09, 02:13 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 1,363
what weird is it worked before even though its quicktime format.oh well at least we figured it out and its not the camera.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'