Photo-Shop for XP/SP3

Old 12-15-09, 07:58 AM
Photo-Shop for XP/SP3

Hi:
I've been using 'Microsoft Digital Image 2006' since 2007 or earlier. It's been a terrific program, particularly 'Photo Shop' when in needing to enhance images and etc. However, on XP/SP3, MDI 2006 is VERY sluggish and often it's hard to load photoes.

My question is;
What or which Photo-Shop/program is more compatible to XP/SP3?

Thanks for your help in advance.

Sponsored Links
Old 12-16-09, 12:38 PM
Group Moderator
I use Photoshop CS4 but it is expensive and bit complex though it can do amlost everything you can imagine and a few things you've never thought of. For the bulk of my photo editing I use Adobe Lightroom. It's much more affordable (less than $200), very powerfull and has a good file handling system for dealing with a large number of photos.

Old 12-16-09, 01:26 PM
I use Corel Paint Shop Pro X, which was purchased by Corel from Jasc. I also use Corel Photo Album, which is good for organizing, renaming and searching based on key words in the description of the image. The legal upgrade from the old Jasc to Corel was cheap.

I run XP and have 2 GB of ram on a fairly fast machine desktop that is about 3 years old. It runs well. I also have it on my laptop, that has good ram, but it is not quite as fast, but still acceptable even when I am impatient and don't want to think.

I finally was able to get rid of the nuisance marketing messages/links, so it is quite good to work with. Unfortunately, all my CD program disks were lost somehow, so I will hang onto the old box before jumping to a new box with the new operating system, since I possible will have to start from scratch with buying good program versions or taking chances on EBay.