best camera?

Old 05-04-10, 09:02 AM
Wink best camera?

Hello. I am an aspiring photographer and have dreamed of owning my own business in the field. My intention are both portrait related as well as nature. I unfortunately lost a camera in a fire last year, which I hope to soon see the insurance $ back from. But the questions lies there of. Which would be the best camera for me to purchase. Brand name, etc... Know how to capture the moment but don't know my best tool for it. Any suggestions?

Sponsored Links
Old 05-04-10, 01:30 PM
Super Moderator
Sorry but there is no such thing!

Even if money and physical size were no object experts that devote their lives to the field can not unanimously agree on what is best because it depends on what you need..

As far as brands go Canon and Nikon have a good share of higher end equipment but even with these there is no clear winner.
I would assume you will want an SLR but if you give us a budget for what you want to start with we might have some ideas.

I went with Canon and for me like the feel of full size bodies.
I went with a 40D model which is now replaced with a 50D which is a professional sized camera but with a smaller sensor.
This camera sells for considerably less than full frame models but still gives excellent results.

How much do you plan to spend?

Old 05-04-10, 03:32 PM
well, I'm thinking definatley high end, and yes to SLR, I was expecting to pay around 1,000. Something that can get great nature close-ups as well as portraiture. Wouldn't mind having a bigger camera, size not really applicable just quality. Would love to have a type of telephoto lens that I can get wide shots on too.

Old 05-04-10, 07:26 PM
Super Moderator
$1000.00 would only buy a 50D body without any lenses, $1700.00 or so would buy a 50D with two better lenses.
Another way is with the smaller body Canon XSi.
For a thousand dollars you can get two basic lenses with it.