Which truck is the best

Old 02-24-07, 07:08 AM
Question Which truck is the best

I want to by a used light truck. I do not need a large snow plowing type. I plan to use it Massachusettes for odd jobs
I like front wheel drive
I will need a back seat area, extended cab
I think a V6 or V8 would be better
I would like something that will last

When someone buys a car or truck you hear them say, I wish I had got one with this or that and I wish it didn't have this.
So I'm all ears, let me know what you think,please.

Sponsored Links
Old 02-24-07, 08:41 AM
I have a '93 Extended Cab Silverado, 4.3 V6, 6 foot (short) bed which I bought new. I bought it so I could carry my very young children's carseats in the backseat and still haul things for work. After going into business for myself as a concrete contractor, I added lumber racks and a tool box in the bed. The truck now has over 240,000 miles on it and is still running strong. It has consistently gotten around 17.5 mpg since I bought it.
Some things to consider:
If I had bought a longbed truck it would not have fit into my garage, but I could haul more cargo in back. Although there is space between the toolbox and floor, for the most part I only have about 4 feet of usable bed space. If I need to haul larger items I have to remove the toolbox.
Most trucks of this size have V8 engines, but I have not had any problems hauling cargo and lumber with the 6 cylinder, and I sometimes really load it down. However, if you're going to do heavy towing you should go with a bigger engine. About the heaviest thing I tow is an air compressor/jackhammer.
I guess it's just dependant on for what type of work you're going to use it.

Pecos

Old 02-24-07, 10:31 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
I don't know that there are any front wheel drive trucks, all are rear wheel drive or 4x4.

Once you know what you need/want from a truck, it should be fairly simple from there.

Old 02-24-07, 10:38 AM
Super Moderator