91 Ford 350 Fuel Gague

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-01-07, 11:02 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: atlanta, ga
Posts: 13
91 Ford 350 Fuel Gague

my fuel gague stays on empty. is there a test i can do to determine weather is the gague or the sending unit.
thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-02-07, 04:01 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
Is it the front or rear tank? If the front tank, you can check your wires pretty straight forward by looking over the top of the drive shaft. I had this problem once, and apparently rats had chewed through my sending unit wire. Simple fix. Now, it could be not only the sending unit or gauge, but it could just as easily be the tank switch. Check the connections there.
 
  #3  
Old 12-02-07, 04:44 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: atlanta, ga
Posts: 13
a single 40 gal tank. any ideas as to the colors of wires ??
 
  #4  
Old 12-02-07, 10:00 AM
jatco's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,045
Not sure about the color of the wires..and hopefully that is the problem.
On my '88 Ranger, when the gas gauge always read empty.. it turned out to be the sending unit/float in the tank. The original was made of brass..and over the years degraded to the point where it took on fuel and sank to the bottom of the tank. The replacement float is plastic so it shouldnt happen again.
Take a look thru this forum....
http://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/se...1&pp=15&page=1 ..
Im sure there would be some info there to help ya.
 
  #5  
Old 12-27-07, 05:38 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: atlanta, ga
Posts: 13
dead on.....after spending close to $500.00 turns out to be a $3.00 brass float with a hair line crack. oh well at least it is fixed..
 
  #6  
Old 12-27-07, 06:22 AM
the_tow_guy's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: SW Fla USA
Posts: 11,531
Dating myself a little here, but some carburetor floats used to have that problem and would cause flooding.
 
  #7  
Old 12-28-07, 05:38 PM
jatco's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,045
Originally Posted by the_tow_guy View Post
Dating myself a little here, but some carburetor floats used to have that problem and would cause flooding.
...Uh. - Yep, I hear ya...lol.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'