97 chevy pickup transmission issue

Old 12-19-08, 06:09 PM
97 chevy pickup transmission issue

I have a 97 1/2ton chevy pickup and the transmission shifts great when i first start driving it but the farther i drive it the worse it shifts, it slams into gear. I took it to a transmission shop and they said the transmission is bad and needs to be replaced. Is this true or is something else causing this issue. If this is the problem how difficult would it be to change. I am a mechanic on airplanes just don't know much about vehicles.

Sponsored Links
Old 12-19-08, 06:34 PM
Group Moderator
Possible you have the same tranny I have in my wrecker (4L80E). Periodically (although not lately, knock on wood) my input speed sensor ($50) will go bad and the symptoms are very firm shifts - slamming - especially the 1-2. It's a fail-safe limp mode just to get you down the road. Yours may or may not be having this problem. Have you tried reading codes? Tranny codes don't always illuminate the CEL, but the codes can still be read. At any rate, I think I would get a second or maybe even third opinion before I wrote off the tranny entirely.

Old 12-19-08, 06:51 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Changing out an automatic transmission isn't that big a deal unless it is 4wd. Then u have the transfer case to also contend with. Basicly you get the car up on jack stands, disconnect the linkage, remove the starter and drive shaft, unbolt the flywheel (flexplate) from the torque converter, unbolt the transmission from the engine and remove it. Having a transmission jack is helpful in removing it but a pile of cardboard boxes works as well to jerk it out on. Replacing it requires the use of a tranny jack.

Old 12-19-08, 10:29 PM
yes it is a 4wd, i don't have a tranny jack, can u rent tranny jacks

Old 12-19-08, 11:29 PM
Yep, they run $10-$15/day. You'll need it with the transfer case hanging off it.

Old 12-20-08, 05:43 AM
Group Moderator