trailer wiring help

Old 01-02-09, 02:13 PM
trailer wiring help

first let me state..at wiring i am a novice now the background that will get me to the problem

i had a 7 wire RV plug installed on my truck after i boufht a dump trailer to haul wood for my home..the installer did not me any questions and i offered no input (because like i said i know nothing about it) now i come to find out after the battery that dumps the wagon goes dead, that the installer never hooked up a "hot" wire to charge the battery...now after reading all i could on the net about this, my truck, a 2001 GMC half ton came with no provision for anything but lights so the installer had to run a seperate line for the electric brakes (he did this as i had bought the controler so he knew i had to have it) i know enough to be dangerous and tried jumping the power wire to the same one that runs the running lights.it kind of charged the battery but caused confusion with my brake controller..a back yard mechaninc told me my computer was having a headache from this move so i tried something new...i hooked my trailer to the truck turned on all the lights hooked a trickle charger to the power wire going into the truck mounted plug and everything worked perfect

so now my big question..how and where do i hook a hot wire on my truck that will be hot when the key is on (i don't want to drain my truck battery when shut off)

do i have to hook to something under the dash or under the hood? and how do i get there?

if you have taken the time to read through this saga..thank you..if you can help..thanks even more

Sponsored Links
Old 01-02-09, 04:44 PM
at yure fuse box under the hood run a wire to a 30 amp self resetting breaker then run a wire back to the plug and hook it to the position marked black this is the charge circut. or go to a rv service center and ask for a diagram they will give you one . hope this helps

Old 01-02-09, 04:51 PM