Question about brake noise while driving.

Old 03-10-09, 11:56 PM
Question about brake noise while driving.

I'm hoping to confirm what a person told me is causing a brake related noise before doing the repair, and I'll try to keep this short as possible. I have an '06 GMC Sierra extended cab, 1/2 ton, 2 wheel drive,with only 13,000 miles on it. And I'm a contractor, and a couple weeks ago, I was coming back from a job that was a ways up a mountain road, and coming back down this road is not the best on brakes, especially when a truck as high geared as mine isn't easy to slow down by downshifting. Anyway, I've been on roads like this here and there, so I'm sure my brakes have been getting glazed over time. I get to the bottom of this hill and I'm getting a high pitched squealing noise that I know is glazed brakes. That wasn't a big concern, but I noticed when I got on flat ground I was getting a "chirp" that was keeping with the revolution of the wheels while driving, no braked being applied. I confirmed it's coming from the left front wheel. It's the same pitch as the glazed brake sound, but like a said, more of a "chirp". I get home and figure I'll see what happens the next day. In the morning, it won't do it all.....all the way up to this job.....no unusual noise, but I'm also not braking nearly the same way. Anyway, coming home, same thing......squealing brakes, and the chirp is back on flat ground. To fast forward, I end uo going to my mechanic, and ask him what the chirping when I'm driving is coming from. He says it could be a lot of things, but he'll check it out if I want. He takes the front brakes apart, scuffs the rotors, scuffs the pads(which were glazed good), makes sure everythiing is as it should be, adjusts the back brakes, and puts it all back together.He even commented that the pads looked like they had got pretty darn hot, and the rotors had a nice mirror like finish. My squealing brakes are gone, but after I drive a bit and apply the brakes a few