Norcold 6162 Won't recognize 120VC

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-22-10, 09:49 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Norcold 6162 Won't recognize 120VC

I have a Norcold model 6162, two way 120/gas. Been working fine for years and has been off for the winter. I went to fire it up and it does not detect 120 VAC when in auto mode and switches to gas and lights as it should. There is 120 vac to trailer and 120 vac at outlet in the fridge compartment and 120 vac to plug/pigtail up to the box. What would be next to look at? I'm asusming 12DC is good as there are lights at the controls and it switches to gas and fires off as expected if there was no 120 vac
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-31-10, 05:03 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 759
I'd check for power with multimeter @ 5 amp fuse for hydro operation under cover of control box at back of fridge. From there, if fuse is good, check for power at spade connector(s) going from board to element for 120VAC. If element is getting power, but not heating up, replace the element.
Here's a link to service manual, which should guide you with troubleshooting section etc. You'll need a multimeter, and Please be careful, or ask for help from someone experienced with electrical, if your not sure, and pay attention to all warnings in that manual. If your still stumped, get back to me, and I'll walk you through it.
Link : ( http://bryantrv.com/docs2/docs/600.pdf )
 
  #3  
Old 05-22-11, 07:01 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Norcold 6162 two way won't recognize 120vac

Took off the cover and discovered that the 5amp was blown. I replaced this and reassembled and when I turned it on to auto, it brought up the AC indicator for about 10 seconds and then went out and switched to gas. I'll bet that the fuse is blown again. Does anyone think that maybe the AC Heater might be defective. I'm going to replace the fuse again as a test and remove the AC heater cables from the box. Then I'm going to reconnect power and see what happens. If the AC lights stays on the Brow panel, the issue must be a short somewhere after the fuse.
 
  #4  
Old 05-23-11, 05:53 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 759
Could be a short in the AC element, so yes, I'd consider changing it.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes