Gm 4L80e transmission not shifting

Old 03-29-12, 01:22 PM
Gm 4L80e transmission not shifting

Hello, I'm a mechanic in the marine corp. we've had an m1115 hmmwv in our shop for about 2 months now with transmission problems and haven't been able to figure it out. The transmission is a Gm 4L80e. It won't shift out of first and I've done everything from replacing the TPS to testing the TISS and TOSS. If anyone has an idea of what the problem might be please reply with an answer. Thank you for your help

Sponsored Links
Old 03-29-12, 04:42 PM
I am no a mechanic, but if the input and output speed sensors tested OK, what about the vehicle speed sensors also. Bad wheel sensors or worn harness wiring will also cause the same symptoms. Are you able to scan for any DTC's ?

Old 03-30-12, 05:37 AM
Group Moderator
Morning Devil Dog; you at Lejeune or Cherry Point?

Left a message for my tranny guy to call me when he gets a minute, so I'll see what he says. You're working on "my" tranny; have the same one in my wrecker (although an older generation). I've had a variety of issues over the years (600,000+ on the truck and its third tranny), but I don't think I've ever had it simply refuse to shift out of 1st gear. I would have started with what you've already covered, too; or rather they are what I would have expected my tranny guy to look at.

Tow Guy
Cherry Point, '85-'99

Old 03-30-12, 08:32 AM
Im at lejuene. I've checked the speed sensor it checks out. Thought the wiring harness was bad so I replaced it works fine now. The only thing I havent checked are the shift solenoids because its not my echelon of maintenance. that belongs to 3rd. Only problem is I cant send the truck to 3rd without figuring out whats wrong with the transmission. So im stuck in a circle.

Old 03-30-12, 10:50 AM
Group Moderator