RV walls


  #1  
Old 02-19-13, 07:58 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
RV walls

Why can't I find out anywhere how to remove interior rv walls. No damage, I just want to get to wiiring.
 
  #2  
Old 02-19-13, 08:07 AM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 18,183
Received 77 Votes on 69 Posts
I believe you need to pull the outer skin of the RV.
 
  #3  
Old 02-19-13, 09:48 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA - N.E.Tn
Posts: 49,235
Received 672 Votes on 595 Posts
No way to snake the wire thru the access points you have? Maybe hide it under some molding ?

btw - welcome to the forums Paul!
 
  #4  
Old 02-19-13, 12:43 PM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 28,126
Received 1,561 Votes on 1,404 Posts
There really is no "standard" as to how anything is done on an RV so there is not definitive "how to" for much of it especially since you did not say what RV you have. Often the walls are framed of wood, steel or aluminum while flat on a table with the framing glued to the interior sheeting. Wiring & sometimes plumbing is run. Then the outer skin is glued to the framework and the cavity in between is either filled with fiberglass or foam insulation. With corrugated aluminum siding additional fasteners (screws or pop rivets) are often installed to insure that wind loads don't break the skin free. Because the inner skins are usually pretty flimsy paneling they cannot be removed without destroying the sheeting so taking the outer skin off is often the only real option though I would use every trick you can think of to avoid it since they were never intended to be removed and it is easy to damage the skin beyond use.
 
  #5  
Old 02-19-13, 02:57 PM
GregH's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 10,234
Received 65 Votes on 60 Posts
What do you hope to accomplish?
Do you want to add wiring or repair a problem?
 
  #6  
Old 02-20-13, 06:27 AM
R
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Central Indiana
Posts: 927
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Dont know what you are trying to do but sometimes you can run wiring under the floor.
 
  #7  
Old 03-14-13, 11:03 AM
M
Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 759
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Look behind seam tape where panels meet, or you'll have batten. That should tell you, likely crown stapled and simply pull it off at staples. What type/model is your unit?
 
  #8  
Old 03-14-13, 11:14 AM
S
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 20,165
Received 1,165 Votes on 1,123 Posts
Looks like this may be a one and done - OP hasn't been on again since the day they posted the question
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: