hydraulic brake dilema, I just can't get them to work on a streetrod. NEED HELP!

Old 12-15-13, 04:56 PM
hydraulic brake dilema, I just can't get them to work on a streetrod. NEED HELP!

I've been beating my head off of this for almost 3 years now, for those of you who haven't already made suggestions over the years, here is an update and description of how it is today.

Brakes worked fine for 10 years, replaced the master (rear seal leaked but I had brakes on the original) and they worked but the lid leaked, replaced master again, lid leaked again (thanks Advance Auto), 3rd master... I sucked the drivers front reservoir dry using a mighty vac and never had brakes again.

Since that time I have replaced ... 4 masters, 2 front calipers, 2 rear wheel cylinders, pitched the combo valve and installed a manual valve, replaced the booster, replaced and adjusted the rear shoes, installed a residual pressure valve in the rear circuit. I have run probably 2 gallons of DOT3-4 synthetic brake fluid thru it, and I'm not kidding! And, yes, I have bench bled every master and I adjusted the brake rod with precision.

Currently I can push the pedal to the floor easily, but I have enough brake to lock up the wheels, it is very touchy. It acts like I still have air in the lines and won't build any pressure to stop the pedal. I purchased a Motive Products pressure bleeder and have been using that to bleed the system and used the RR, LR, RF, LF sequence. I even removed the calipers and held them high while bleeding.

ANY SUGGESTIONS are welcome! Does the manual valve create any change in procedure? I assume that the DOT3-4 synthetic is OK.

BTW, its a 1978 Ford Fairmont booster/with a 7/8" master, connected to 1977 Monte Carlo read drums with 7/8" wheel cylinders, and 1977 Monte Carlo front calipers off of the same donor car, all hanging under a 1953 Ford F100 pickup. And BTW, the master is up on the firewall, not under the floor.

Sponsored Links
Old 12-16-13, 09:39 PM