1984 C10 Restore...Beginner needs advice

Old 05-27-14, 03:15 PM
R
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
1984 C10 Restore...Beginner needs advice

My father n law gave me a 1984 chevy c10 custom deluxe stepside. Has a 41.l l6 and a 3 speed on column, The truck is very rough, has been sitting for over a decade.....but its free. Im a beginner when it comes to vehicles, i mean i can do the basic stuff: brakes, oil changes, shocks, electrical work etc. Not sure where to begin or if its even worth restoring. I figured it was a good truck to learn on. Any advice or tips would be appreciated. Recommend any good reads. I figure that i would make a list of everything it needs to get road worthy and then go from there. Here is some pics and i apologize for all the junk, my father n law uses it as storage lol

Attached Images           
Old 05-27-14, 05:01 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
Welcome to the forums! Remember, things that are free, are worth every penny of it. It is really going to depend on if you have a place that you can restore it, like a well equipped garage. Oil, grease, mud and water just don't get it. Also, will it start? Your priority will be to check to see if all the parts are with it. It looks as if parts have been dumped in the bed. Be prepared to spend some serious money getting it back in operating condition, and even more to make it "pretty".

Old 05-27-14, 05:51 PM
R
Yeah i understand your point. lol The parts in the back of the truck are just random junk except for extra bed fenders and extra tailgate. Ill check all the wiring, clean the carb, hook a battery up, fresh gas and see if she'll start. Ill just give it a run through and see what parts ill need to replace to get it running. According to my father n law, everything is on it and has never been removed.

Old 05-28-14, 03:30 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 398 Votes on 354 Posts