Very difficult time bleeding brakes

Old 04-26-16, 07:48 AM
Very difficult time bleeding brakes

I'm having a very difficult time bleeding the lines after repairing the rear brakes . I can't seem to get the air bubbles out. I'm bleeding them myself and following the instructions. Sometimes the bubbles start when I CLOSE the bleeder valve. I even tried bleeding the rear brakes lines again.

I don't understand. I bled the rear lines a couple nights ago. I didn't see any more bubbles. Then I started with the right front wheel and everything went downhill fast.

Sponsored Links
Old 04-26-16, 08:02 AM
Group Moderator
I've been doing my own mechanical work for many years and I've never had 100% success when using that type of bleeding system so I retired it. I grab a hold of someone to hit the brake and am done in a few minutes.

Maybe someone has some positive and and helpful advice.

Old 04-26-16, 08:15 AM
Temporarily Suspended
I agree with PJ. It's better to have someone pump the brake. If that's not possible, just try a gravity feed. Open the bleeder screw & remove the cap from the master cyl, mix a drink & wait a few minutes.

Old 04-26-16, 08:28 AM
I don't have an assistant right now. Seriously, a few minutes for gravity bleeding? I heard it can take hours. I started to try that and the fluid stopped flowing. Is there any pumping involved with gravity bleeding?

Also the bleeder bottle I got with the kit is small. When you drain it, doesn't that risk letting air back into system? If you open the bleeder valve too far during bleeding will that also let air into the system?

Old 04-26-16, 08:52 AM
Temporarily Suspended
I tried one of those kits once. I didn't have any luck either. A few weeks ago, I replaced a rear wheel cylinder. I had the bleeder screw & master cyl opened. By time I put the drum on, the fluid was flowing. I haven't touched it since.

Old 04-26-16, 09:05 AM
Do you press the brake pedal any for gravity bleeding?