Do you guys use torque wrench on wheel bearing locknuts?

Old 05-21-17, 06:46 PM
Do you guys use torque wrench on wheel bearing locknuts?

I notice my manual says torque the wheel bearing locknut to a certain amount of ft/lbs. Do you use a torque wrench or just estimate the number of turns?

And what kind of solvent do you use to wash off the old bearing grease?

Sponsored Links
Old 05-21-17, 06:57 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Most tire shops use a torque wrench, not so much for the torque as to be sure the wheel is on tight. One of the biggest problems tire dealers have is wheel off. I always use a torque wrench on my wheels, and I was a mechanic for almost 30 years. I use it for safety. Any good parts cleaner will clean bearings just don't spin bearings when blowing them off. A spinning bearing jams it will take your finger off..

Old 05-22-17, 06:08 AM
I believe the OP is asking about a wheel bearing nut and not a tire rim nut. Most wheel bearing nuts accommodate a cotter pin so if the pin hole isn't aligned with the nut slots at torque, you have to under/over torque the nut to get cotter pin alignment.
While car manufacturers have a torque value for tire rim nuts, most tire rim nut wrenches supplied by the car manufacturers won't loosen the nuts(at manufacturer's torque) when powered by an average human. Carry a large cross rim nut wrench or call for service when you get a flat while on the road.

Old 05-22-17, 07:45 AM