Motorhome rear view camera not working.......??


  #1  
Old 10-31-18, 07:51 PM
Y
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Oregon
Posts: 894
Received 22 Votes on 21 Posts
Motorhome rear view camera not working.......??

This is a 2003 Class A, 35', with a Voyager wired system. Monitor worked great for years until....we hit a pot hole on I 80 in CA last month. Screen went to light blue but no picture. I checked the monitor connections under the dash and they seemed OK. A RV tech took the camera down and patched in his own, working, Voyager camera. Monitor still not showing a picture. It would appear monitor or 50' cable is the problem.

Other possibilities are fuses, short, a ground wire issue. I can't check ohms in the cable, it is too long.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
 
  #2  
Old 10-31-18, 08:22 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,055
Received 2,952 Votes on 2,664 Posts
Just the rear camera ? No front side cameras on the system ?
 
  #3  
Old 10-31-18, 09:53 PM
Y
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Oregon
Posts: 894
Received 22 Votes on 21 Posts
Just a rear view camera.....
 
  #4  
Old 11-01-18, 03:43 AM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 11,403
Received 594 Votes on 531 Posts
You need to check the screen at the screen. Take a known working cam and connect it directly to the screen (bypassing the cable from the rear). This will tell all. If it works then the cable is bad, if it doesn't then the screen is bad. Surprised the RV tech did not do this to begin with.
 
  #5  
Old 11-01-18, 08:39 AM
Y
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Oregon
Posts: 894
Received 22 Votes on 21 Posts
Hi Norm....RV tech said he would do as you suggested....but not until 11/19.

Thank you....
 
  #6  
Old 11-01-18, 05:09 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,055
Received 2,952 Votes on 2,664 Posts
It's not always that easy to just connect a camera.
Many of those systems use multipin plugs which are hard to connect to ,
 
  #7  
Old 11-02-18, 11:48 AM
Y
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Oregon
Posts: 894
Received 22 Votes on 21 Posts
Hi PJ......yes, you are right. I talked to RVCams.com who advised an adapter is needed to connect a 2003 Voyager camera and a 2011 Voyager monitor.

I am going to check the ground wire to the camera which is inside the 4 wire cable. Hopefully, that will clear up the problem.

Talked to ASA Voyager about a separate ground wire from the monitor to the frame...or elsewhere. They could not tell for sure as I did not have the nameplate info for them. Maybe there is another ground. A pal who knows automotive will come over and look for me.
 
  #8  
Old 11-16-18, 07:23 AM
Y
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Oregon
Posts: 894
Received 22 Votes on 21 Posts
Never could find the ground wire...or a short, so I bought a new Voyager kit from RVCams.com.

After the install, it should reveal what component was the problem. Will post result.

Thanks for all the replies.
 
  #9  
Old 11-28-18, 06:50 AM
Y
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Oregon
Posts: 894
Received 22 Votes on 21 Posts
OK....new camera, monitor and cable here. Tested out OK, including cable, which was coiled up inside the coach.

Now....how best to fish new cable. Existing goes thru firewall and down to the frame, aft, and up the end cap to camera. I am an automotive dunce.

Which end to start.... and how best to tie/tape new cable to old ? Any tips will help.

Thank you....
 
  #10  
Old 11-28-18, 12:16 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,055
Received 2,952 Votes on 2,664 Posts
I'm a bit confused..... you said the wiring checks out ok. So your question is how to run a new wire ??

The biggest problem running a wire under the coach is it needs to be rated for outdoor/wet duty ise and most cables are not.
 
  #11  
Old 11-28-18, 01:11 PM
Y
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Oregon
Posts: 894
Received 22 Votes on 21 Posts
Pj....New cable was used to check new components. I had thought 2003 cable was not compatible with 2018 unit. Anyway, a closer inspection of old cable found a worn/damaged area where it was rubbing on the horn mount.

There is a clear space in back of camera to ground, so dropping the new cable is EZ......pushing it thru the firewall, inside, will be harder. Not done yet.
 
  #12  
Old 12-02-18, 08:16 AM
Y
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Oregon
Posts: 894
Received 22 Votes on 21 Posts
All done. New unit, new cable and works well. Hired a local handyman for $20/hour. Took him 9 hours to do everything. Local RV shops wanted $85-95/hour and about 4 hours, min.

Supplier was RV Cams: Backup Camera Systems (All)

Good price, lots of help, tips. Ask for Tim.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: