Propane heater in camper

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-04-18, 10:46 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Brandon/Ocala Florida
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Propane heater in camper

Hello, I just purchased a new to me camper, it has a furnace that works off electric and gas, I need help figuring out why its not working!

Its a little bitty thing and I cant imagine its rocket science to repair but like anything else if you dont know what you are doing its not easy.

To add wood to the fire I am electronically challenged ( and I dont mean kinda )

I can prob bring it to someone and pay 2-400 to have it repaired or I can buy a new one for about the same price but I am not interested in that, I want to repair what I have and have the satisfaction of doing so.

Ive tried RV forums and I cant get any bites from anyone that willing to get down to the nitty gritty and tell me do this and report back, now do this and report back and now do this and you get my point.

I believe I have wiring schematics, I believe I have the information needed to fix the thing I just dont know how to read it or where to start.

Is there anyone here willing to help?

Tomm Monday and I go back to work so this might be a slow process, I am in no rush though. I can put a little bit into it every night and all weekends.

I know its alot to ask and Im hoping to find someone that knows and isnt just trying to be kind and kinda guessing cause I dont want to damage the unit further.

Thanks for any consideration
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-04-18, 10:51 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Brandon/Ocala Florida
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Here are some pictures of the unit, maybe they will help.

It is an Atwwod Hydro flame FA 7920
https://postimg.cc/187DY4wG

https://postimg.cc/TpGjKzTD

https://postimg.cc/8sgRntZw

I can and will add any picture necessary

Id rather not remove unit from RV cause I hate to break the propane line and then deal with a leak I didnt have before
 
  #3  
Old 11-04-18, 11:04 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Brandon/Ocala Florida
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
  #4  
Old 11-04-18, 11:11 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Brandon/Ocala Florida
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Here is a link to service manual

http://bryantrv.com/docs2/docs/hydroflameold2.pdf
 
  #5  
Old 11-04-18, 11:24 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,507
Received 405 Votes on 381 Posts
Welcome to the forums. ............ (thread moved to the camper forum)

What is the full model number ?
That runs on 12vdc and propane.
Is it doing anything at all ?
Did you check for 12vDC to it ?

Manual
 
  #6  
Old 11-04-18, 12:03 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Brandon/Ocala Florida
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Atwwod Hydro flame FA 7920

I believe thats all there is.

When I turn the thermostat all the way up and then switch it to on I hear a very faint single click down in the unit, same thing when I switch it off,

Nothing else happens that I am aware of
 
  #7  
Old 11-04-18, 12:44 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 6,571
Received 4 Votes on 4 Posts
Propane supply must be on. Sometimes, it takes a short time for gas to reach the furnace.
 
  #8  
Old 11-05-18, 07:59 AM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: MI
Posts: 2,614
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Does your unit have spark ignition or a standing pilot? The linked manual describes both. If the pilot isn't lit the gas valve won't open so the little "click" of the call for heat is all you'll hear.

The linked manual is pretty good at describing the sequence of operation but the owners manual that came with the camper would have the info on what type/how to light the pilot.
 
  #9  
Old 11-05-18, 06:28 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,507
Received 405 Votes on 381 Posts
The FA-7920D is a direct spark ignition. It's lit automatically.
The FA-7920P is a manual piezo spark ignition with pilot light.

So if you have the pilot version.... it needs to be lit.
If you have the direct spark model.... the blower needs to start running before the unit will light.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: