2010 ranger

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-08-18, 09:21 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 213
2010 ranger

I have a 2010 ranger with a 2.3 and an automatic trans..it's an xl with an extended cab..

I need to replace the computer and I want to order one from ebay but don't know what part number I need.

Any help would be appreciated

THANK YOU!!!!

Chuck
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-08-18, 09:32 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,258
Typically the ECM is used in the entire product line but is flashed (or programmed) for a specific model, group and engine. There should be a long part number on the sticker but when you buy one from Ebay..... you don't know if it was flashed for your vehicle.

I was just looking on Ebay..... there are those that sell modules flashed to your vehicle parameters

Name:  vin.jpg
Views: 51
Size:  18.6 KB
 
  #3  
Old 11-08-18, 10:08 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 213
can I read the number without taking it out?

Thank you so much for the help...
 
  #4  
Old 11-08-18, 10:32 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,258
I don't know. Sometimes the ECM sits in a plastic housing and just slides out.
 
  #5  
Old 11-09-18, 03:48 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 44,219
I bought a computer for a jeep online and they wanted the VIN as part of the ordering process. I assume that allowed them to flash it for that particular jeep.
 
  #6  
Old 11-09-18, 04:19 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 213
Thank you.

If it is flashed for my vehicle would the chip key work? Or would I have to have it programmed anyway?

Thank you again!!
 
  #7  
Old 11-09-18, 04:22 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 44,219
The one I bought interacted with the chip key fine .... that was about 5 yrs ago. My stepson drove that jeep another year or so after the repair.
 
  #8  
Old 11-09-18, 04:49 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 213
Thank you. I believe ebay number 312298746021 is one I need. It fits all of the compatibility specs but that doesn't show auto transmission. It says it will fit an auto in the description.
 
  #9  
Old 11-09-18, 11:02 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,258
If you have the same ECU as the one in the link..... it will be bolted thru the firewall with the plugs on the inside. The label should be facing the engine. Get that number before purchasing a replacement.

Good question on the chip in the key. Ask the seller.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes