Winch on camper


  #1  
Old 07-28-22, 12:21 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Winch on camper

The winch on my camper will take the cover up but will not go back down or it will go down but not up what might be the problem?? The switch is working fine please help
 
  #2  
Old 07-28-22, 12:28 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,188
Received 2,982 Votes on 2,690 Posts
Not sure what cover on your camper you are referring to.
We'd need to know more about what you have.
Does the winch have a name or model number on it ?
Pictures can be very helpful....How to insert pictures.

If it's a basic winch.... the switch will be the only control.
A more advanced unit would have a control relay.
Although your switch mechanically works.... it could be electrically defective.
 
  #3  
Old 07-28-22, 12:36 PM
badeyeben's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Southern ILLINOIS
Posts: 1,199
Received 46 Votes on 40 Posts
Maybe they are talking about the lift system for the pop up type campers. Then it could be a lot of things. Maybe it is binding up. Maybe one of the cables is broken. Maybe it doesn't get enough voltage. Several things could be the problem.
 
  #4  
Old 07-29-22, 05:11 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 28,161
Received 1,575 Votes on 1,416 Posts
If it's a pop-up does your mechanism have limit switches to turn the winch off when it gets to the full up position?
 
  #5  
Old 07-29-22, 05:15 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts

Inside

Sticker on winch

Front of cover
This is the problem child lol any help? It is on a flagstaff Mac pop up 2018 model
 
  #6  
Old 07-29-22, 07:34 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 28,161
Received 1,575 Votes on 1,416 Posts
Does the camper have limit switches?
I assume there is a solenoid(s), check to make sure the down one is working.
 
  #7  
Old 07-29-22, 03:30 PM
A
Member
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 824
Received 65 Votes on 57 Posts
if it uses 2 relays good chance one may be bad making a bad connection for either power or ground.
 
  #8  
Old 07-29-22, 03:51 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,188
Received 2,982 Votes on 2,690 Posts
The operation (up/down) switch runs thru the limit switch assy and then to the relays.
You need to confirm power at S1 and S2. Meter is ok. Test light is ok too.
Carefree winch manual - pdf


 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: