Soldering Water Heater Pipes

Old 08-09-02, 09:14 PM
leonardca
Visiting Guest
Soldering Water Heater Pipes

Sir, I have a leaky water heater pipe where 2 pipes are joined. I have tried soldering it with flux, pipe solder and a propane torch and I have had no luck. I have never used solder before, so I went with what the directions said. I cleaned the area, applied flux, heated the area and applied the solder. The solder kept beading up and falling off the pipe. I ended up melting away the flux every time I do it, so I tried without flux, just to get the same result. Now my pipe is leaking worse (it is almost just pouring out instead of a drip). What am I doing wrong and what is your suggestion for what to do in the meantime? A quick reply would be very helpful and thankful.
Thank You For Your Time, leonardca

Old 08-09-02, 09:32 PM
chukmac
Visiting Guest
If you are talking copper pipe, you aren't getting joints hot enough to melt the solder. It should melt and flow completely around the pipe and under fitting.
chuck

Old 08-09-02, 09:39 PM
chukmac
Visiting Guest
Sorry, seem to forget sometimes others haven't done this before. Flux keeps rust out, so use it each time. Even if you can't see it,it is there. heat fitting, not solder or flux.
chuck

i

Old 08-10-02, 12:46 AM
P
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts