oversized gas run?

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-13-02, 06:46 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 664
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
oversized gas run?

a new furnace is going in in the next few weeks. The gas meter is already in and I am planning on running the gas line myself. I am a plumber by trade but I don't do that much gas work. I am leaving the furnace install to a pro but my question is regarding future expansion. Do you think the inspectors will mind if i leave a stub out for a future gas range in the kitchen and a gas dryer? In other words the system may be oversized for just the furnace and HWH but not when I upgrade my appliances next year.
 
  #2  
Old 10-13-02, 07:19 PM
Sharp Advice's Avatar
Admin Emeritus
Join Date: Feb 1998
Location: The Shake and Bake State USA
Posts: 10,398
Received 5 Votes on 4 Posts
Hello: Paulypfunk

Your topic was moved to this forum topic. Plumbers do gas piping work and are best qualified to post accurate information.

Basically speaking and in almost every instantance, you can install as many potential gas pipe outlets as is needed. The maost important issues are pressure checking for leakings after initial installation and gas meter sizing.

Contact the local gas supplier and supply them with all the potential appliances and there approzimate BTU inputs. Doing so allows the gas company to install the correct size meter.

Also the advice of your local building & safety department. There are strict codes and laws pertaining to how gaslines are to be installed, what materials must be used and what pipe size to use in every situation.

Failure to adhere to codes, installing the wrong pipe size and doing the project incorrectly can cause major grief in the future. May also void homeowners insurance, etc.

Our resident plumbing professional replying within this forum, may have alternate or additional helpful information, suggestions, advice, opinions, and or a better understanding of the circumstances and or conditions, based upon the nature of the request contained within your question.

Check back several times for additional replies.

Regards & Good Luck, Forum Host & Moderator.
TCB4U2B2B Company Enterprises. Energy Conservation Consultants & Gas Appliance Diagnostics Technicians.
 
  #3  
Old 10-13-02, 07:42 PM
Plumber2000's Avatar
Member
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Eugene, Oregon
Posts: 5,838
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I don't do much gas piping myself, since this falls under mechcanical, might call the mechcanical inspector and ask him/her, there more the happy to answer your questions.
 
  #4  
Old 10-14-02, 06:44 AM
notuboo's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Kansas City MO
Posts: 1,780
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
When given a logical explanation, inspectors will usually pass this because it makes much more sense to have the future expansion built in now. Be sure you use approved materials and everything is gas tight.
Overall, appliances your looking at do not add that much to demand on pipe.
 
  #5  
Old 10-14-02, 10:12 AM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,386
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Gas line

Id look at code there where you are for gas line.We have to take the furnace line from the meter only.All other supply for other things on another line. Also we get 75' of 1" line an a 90%L cost 5'.if we cant doit ,then have to kick up to 1 1/4"pipe.So look at code ED
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: