Finding gas lines to grills, gas lights, etc.

Old 11-28-02, 03:58 PM
landscaper
Visiting Guest
Unhappy Finding gas lines to grills, gas lights, etc.

I am a residential landscape contractor working in yards 30+ years old. Although I use common sense in following gas lines from the shutoff valve at the meter, I sometimes only find the gas line when I nick it with my shovel.

Three questions:
1. Is there a way to find the line other than digging along its entire length?
2. If I smell a gas leak from a nicked line, is there a way to find the leak without uncovering the line in the area where I smell the gas?
3. If I need to patch a copper line with compression fittings, what kind of replacement pipe should I use?
I can do solvent welds from my irrigation work, but know nothing about sweating copper pipes.

So far, I have been calling a plumber to fix this problem when it occurs, but at $90/visit and sometimes a 24-hour wait, it is a real job-killer.

Thanks in advance.

Old 11-28-02, 04:22 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Well, here in atlanta, and i am sure in most major metro areas, they will locate the lines for free if you just call them first... that way you can find them before you hit them... But if you nick one, you might buy a very expensive gas detector like the gas company uses to narrow down where the leak is but I have no idea on cost... As to fixing the problem, you would need a flaring tool which you can get pretty cheap... Compression fitting are not code for gas pipe... and you DO NOT want to solder a gas line...

Practice flaring a few pieces and you will get the hang of it quick...
but of course getting the lines located in the first place would be the best thing to do... By the way, if you get them located first, then if you hit one, the utility company will fix it at no charge...

Old 11-29-02, 05:06 AM
magister
Visiting Guest