Adding half-bath

Old 03-26-03, 07:31 AM
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Adding half-bath

I have a small 2 bedroom with an 8'X8' laundry room off the master bedroom that is crying out to be turned into a 1/2 bath (sink and commode). It's on a 1/2 acre, outside the city limits, and it doesn't increase water usage (not adding bedrooms) so the septic system can handle it.

I know the basics of plumbing, I've been rehabbing houses for 20+ years but I've never added a bathroom to a house.

Any recommendations on books regarding adding baths?

The laundry room backs up to the original bathroom so the drains don't need to run real far.

BUT, is it better to put the toilet closer to the other toilet (downstream from the new sink) or put the sink closer?

Any recommendations on adding vents that doesn't involve, or at least minimizes opening walls?

My basic plan is to place a 4" TEE over the main drain (which is directly under the original toilet), the gives me two 4" branches, one pointing east, one pointing west.

The one pointing east will have the kitchen sink (1 1/2") original bathroom sink (1 1/4") and original shower (1 1/2"???), feeding into it.

The one pointing west will have the new toilet, new bathroom sink, and laundry draining into it.

The house is post and beam so by removing the floor in the laundry I have pretty decent access.

I'm in the preliminary planning as my tenants aren't moving out until April 6th, and I have the general painting, carpeting, clean up etc to do before putting this unit up for sale. My target date is May 1 to start advertising.

Thanks in advance for all your help and advice.
slumlordfrank

Old 03-26-03, 10:19 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Cool

How about an illustrated step-by-step article from Reader's Digest "The Family Handyman" magazine on adding a half-bath:
http://www.familyhandyman.com/200002/project/main.html
Good Luck!
Mike

Old 03-26-03, 01:43 PM
adding a 1/2 bath