new plumbing

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-26-03, 01:49 AM
grid
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
new plumbing

I have a concrete slab floor.I have hammered up a trench to remove some broken pipe to the bathroom.My problem is that the toilet has the same problem. Can I hook the toilet in through the new pipes I have laid for the bathroom? Do bath and toilet pipes all end up at the same place anyway?
Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-26-03, 03:14 AM
poorplmbr's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: long island ,new york
Posts: 323
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Unless you have a grey water system, then it all ends up in the same place but the toilet pipe must be a minimum of 3".
 
  #3  
Old 04-26-03, 04:06 AM
grid
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
thanks poorplmbr.
Im using 4" pipe but i dont know what you would call a grey water area.
Greg.
 
  #4  
Old 04-26-03, 04:39 AM
Mike Swearingen's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Northeastern NC On The Albemarle Sound
Posts: 10,952
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Cool

"Grey water" is any drain water that isn't from a toilet, such as a washing machine. Some have a grey water sump (aka dry well) separate from a septic system to reduce the load on the septic system.
Be certain that the new drain lines are tied into existing vents.
You can do a Search above on bathroom plumbing for illustrations in past posts.
Good Luck!
Mike
 
  #5  
Old 04-26-03, 05:42 AM
grid
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Cool new pipes

Thanks Mike,
We are on town sewer so all should be ok. I am wanting to move the current toilet vent as it is in the lounge which was originally a garage. I thought I should put it at the same distance from the toilet as it is now. However to do that it will have to go in the bathroom and be boxed in. It is 4" and will also have the bath,shower and basin running into it.Does it sound like Im putting to much pressure on it?Should I put another in?
As a side note I only found this site this evening and cant beleive how helpful it is. Great work everyone.
Greg
 
  #6  
Old 04-26-03, 06:21 AM
Mike Swearingen's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Northeastern NC On The Albemarle Sound
Posts: 10,952
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Cool

There is no pressure on a drain/waste/vent system.
However, there are maximum distances from the fixture to the vent.
Keeping the new boxed-in dwv stack the same distance from the toilet as the old one should work fine. You can drain eveything into the 4" line, and each fixture drain should be vented after the trap.
Be sure to keep all drain lines at a 1/4" slope per linear foot of line toward the main.
Good Luck!
Mike
 
  #7  
Old 04-26-03, 01:04 PM
Ragnar's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Albuquerque
Posts: 1,349
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Well, if you are venting the toilet a similar distance as it was before, that is good, and if you are draining the other 3 fixtures into the 4" vent portion of the pipe then that is fine... that pipe will carry 216 fixture units... You are putting 5 on it... In fact, in my area you change that 4" vent to a 2" vent and it would still be fine... Just make sure everything ties into the 4" vent, not to the 4" main drain...
 
  #8  
Old 04-26-03, 03:23 PM
grid
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Wink new pipes

Thanks everyone. You have answered my concerns.Ill let you know how it goes.
Greg
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: