how to drain a water heater?

Old 09-08-03, 03:10 PM
mikehalker
Visiting Guest
how to drain a water heater?

I bought a house that has Florida well water. Terrible smell and water was yellow. Had softeners rebed and cold water runs clear and odor free but hot water still smells. I drained the bottom drain for over an hour while running the shower on hot in the back. The shower never went cold but the water heater cooled and ran clear (so it seemed). Hot water still smells but the cold is great. Am I missing a step here? The heater is a big one, but over an hour seemed like it would work. Thanks for the help.

Sponsored Links
Old 09-08-03, 03:54 PM
Liquid plumber
Visiting Guest
I'm no expert on getting odors out of water heaters, but I do know that chlorine bleach will kill just about any odor you can think of. Why not turn the water heater off, drain it, take out the anode rod (now would be a good time to change this as well) and pour a gallon of Clorox down the hole. Then put the anode rod back in, refill it and, without turning the heater back on, let it sit over night. Then flush the chlorine out and turn it back on. It might work.

Robert

Old 09-08-03, 04:19 PM
Super Moderator
mikehalker:

I'm on well water, flush mine on a regular basis but changed a few things to make it easier.

I totally removed the cheap drain valve and replaced it with a 3/4" nipple, a ball valve and a garden hose adapter on the end.
I then threw away my rotten anode and installed a garden hose fitting in place of the anode.
I first shut off the water and while draining, open the garden hose tap on top. With the large open bore drain and the tap opened at the top the tank drains in minutes.
I can then hook-up a hose and back-flush through the bottom fitting.

You can also add chlorine through the tap at the top.
A cup of bleach for an hour or so will do the trick.

Old 09-08-03, 07:44 PM