Copper to PVC/CPVC

Old 11-28-04, 11:43 AM
M
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thumbs up Copper to PVC/CPVC

Everything is going good in the new basement bathroom. Now time for plumbing. I would prefer to do the PVC but have copper now. I am not good at Copper. Do they make a fitting (Copper to PVC) so that I can just sweat two spots and then do PVC the rest of the way??? Also, should I go off of a 1" pipe or 1/2" pipe??? Thanks for all your help.

Old 11-28-04, 11:54 AM
Received 2 Upvotes on 2 Posts
Use CPCV not PVC.

There is a fitting that you can use for the transition between the two types of pipe, first sweat on the female adapter on the copper pipe, now with a fitting called a cpvc x male brass adapter screw this into the copper fitting, your then all set to run cvpc pipping.

Start at the 1" and depending on how many fixtures you are plumbing to depends on when you decrease to sizes 3/4" and 1/2" sizes, rule of thumb, no more then 2 fixtures on one 1/2" line.

Old 11-28-04, 11:57 AM
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Glad to see everything is going well.
If this is not in a wall you can use fittings to change from copper to PVC.
Sweat on a female iron pipe adapter and use a male iron pipe PVC adapter.The term Iron Pipe is used to denote Threaded Adapter, it can be any material.
CPVC MUST be used for HOT water lines. PVC can be used for cold.

You need to run 1/2 to each fixture, this can be reduced to 3/8 AFTER the shutoff valve.

Make sure you do not place any threaded connections in a confined space(wall or floor)

Good luck with your project and post back with any further questions you may have.

Old 11-28-04, 12:00 PM
PVC is not rated for hot water, most codes do not allow pvc in building, if your code says different then by all means do as you so see fit.

Old 11-28-04, 03:23 PM
M
Thumbs up Thanks!!!

You guys make projects like this easy!!! Thanks for your responses!!!!!

Old 11-29-04, 07:14 AM
T