pressure check

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-28-04, 09:18 PM
rob
rob is offline
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 149
pressure check

Hi - I've read posts about pressure testing lines and making sure that ends are capped and (I thought) not connected to any valves.

My question:
What would be the configuration to pump up the line with a compressor without putting a valve between the compressor hose and the line under test? Seems like the compressor on it's own might have some small leaks.

Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-28-04, 11:48 PM
nomind's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: langley, in sunny fraser valley, bc , near vancouver
Posts: 1,133
Hi Rob
- you may have misunerstood this procedure. You have to have a valve fitted on the line, or else how could you pressurise it ? This is frequently done in the well biz, and I built a Tee with gauge and fill valve on 2 of the ends. The third is left to make adaptable for whatever I'm using it on.
 
  #3  
Old 12-29-04, 10:17 AM
rob
rob is offline
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 149
Hi nomind - Maybe I'm making it too complicated! Here's a quick picture with the pipe being tested. There is a cap on one end. There is a tee on the other end with a guage and a valve to shut off once the line is pressurized. Is this what you had in mind?



Thanks
 
  #4  
Old 12-29-04, 10:53 AM
majakdragon's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: N.E. Arkansas
Posts: 7,827
Rob, Your link did not show up in the thread. Only the name of a server or something.
 
  #5  
Old 12-30-04, 09:45 AM
rob
rob is offline
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 149
Hi - Maybe I'll just put the link in directly. Here is my crude picture!

http://us.f1.yahoofs.com/bc/ea876c10...uXE1BBj3bbABqb
 
  #6  
Old 12-30-04, 09:53 AM
majakdragon's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: N.E. Arkansas
Posts: 7,827
Still no picture. Just the Tripod link logo. Not sure why not.
 
  #7  
Old 12-30-04, 10:14 AM
majakdragon's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: N.E. Arkansas
Posts: 7,827
Maybe this will help and I think it is what you have.
X is the valve...then a tee with gauge...rest of pipe with a cap.
This should be what you need.

Hmmm, my O (gauge got moved off the tee when I submitted this.





X--T--------------------------]
O
 
  #8  
Old 12-30-04, 04:33 PM
rob
rob is offline
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 149
ok, thanks, that's (picture) the easy way! That's exactly what I have, and the compressed air comes in at the valve.
 
  #9  
Old 12-30-04, 11:56 PM
nomind's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: langley, in sunny fraser valley, bc , near vancouver
Posts: 1,133
Hi guys,
I think we're all talking about the same thing in slightly different configurations. Top flat of the F is a gauge, bottom is the airvalve. Small leg is adaptable by reducers etc. to fit any pipe size.

gauge
F----------------------pipe being tested
air valve



 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes