Re-Piping Advise Needed

Old 04-10-05, 11:00 PM
diyfanatic
Visiting Guest
Thumbs up Re-Piping Advise Needed

Recently bought my first property, and as you may have guesses it wasn't new. It's a 1950's rancher w/ galvanized piping.

I have very low pressure and horrible water taste, especially after it hasn't been turned on for a while.

I've talked to the neighbors and they have re-piped their house a couple years ago for the same reasons. Current piping doesn't leak (yet) and seems to be in ok shape on the outside.

I was wondering how realistic it would be for me to get this done all by my self in 1-2 days. I've never done any real plumbing before but think of my self as being handy. What things should I watch out for and what should I consider before I begin this job. Which tools or materials are better to use.

Thanks in advance for your advice.

Sponsored Links
Old 04-12-05, 05:46 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Plumbing would be fairly straight forward. Several choices for replacement material; copper, plastic, pex. All require a certain amount of tools to work with so do you have the proper tools to start with just for the plumbing.

How good are you at sheetrock repair? Any walls that need to be opened for pipe exposure. The little stops on the lav and toilet, do they come out of the wall or through the floor? What about the tub and shower valve, replace that? Need to have tille work or a surround installed?

Carpentry work with kitchen cabinets? How does the water lines get to the sink?

Do you have the tools for these jobs?

I'm sure others will chime in...

Not trying to shoot down your idea, I just want your eyes open for ALL the work required. Let us know how everything is going and ask questions if you have any problems. There are many people here who will give good and free advise, use it to your advantage.

Good luck with your project.