Replacing leaking ball valve

Old 07-11-05, 10:05 AM
justinbezanson
Visiting Guest
Replacing leaking ball valve

Hi,

I am new to plumbing and need to replace a ball valve that is rusty and leaking around the handle.

I have 2 ball valves at the start of my water system. One just after the pressure tank and just before a water filter and the second is after the water filter. The one I need to replace is the second valve after the water filter.

Diagram:
Pump----Pressure Tank----1st valve-----Water Filter------2nd valve----

I can shut off the water by closing the first valve. What materials and tools will I need to complete this project and could someone give me a brief 'how to' guide to get it done correctly.

Thanks,

Justin

Old 07-11-05, 10:21 AM
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
justinbezanson, Welcome to the DIY Forums.
Need a little more info here. Is the pipe plastic, copper, galvanized? Different methods for each material. Good luck.

Old 07-11-05, 10:55 AM
justinbezanson
Visiting Guest
Sorry about that,

The pipes are copper.

Any other info you need just ask.

I'll tell the full story in case it helps.

I woke up this morning and had no water. This had happened one other time. The other tim,e I shut off the pump and waited a couple of minutes and then turned it back on and I had water again. I was hoping nothing else would happen until the end of this week when I returned from a business trip (I am leaving tomorrow morning). Anyway so I tried turning off the pump and turning it back on again but it did not work this time.

So I called a plumber to fix the problem. He replaced the pressure gauge and we got water back. He told me I needed to replace the rusty,leaking valve very soon or it would cause the gauge to break again.

So this is where I am, I want to replace the valve myself.

Thanks again,

Old 07-11-05, 12:09 PM
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post